IPOS Faculty

 Photo Credit:  Mitya Ku

Donald S. Bae, MD
Course Director

Dr. Donald S. Bae is Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Harvard Medical School and Attending Surgeon at Boston Children’s Hospital. He graduated magna cum laude from Harvard College with a degree in Biochemical Scienes and received his M.D. degree from Harvard Medical School.  After completing orthopaedic residency training in the Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Residency Program, Dr. Bae completed fellowship training in pediatric orthopaedics and hand/upper extremity surgery.

Dr. Bae’s clinical and research interests focus on congenital, traumatic, neuromuscular, and sports-related conditions of the hand and upper limb in children.  Locally, he serves on the Harvard residency program’s Education Committee and is Co-Director of the Harvard Hand and Upper Extremity Fellowship.  He also leads the orthopaedic simulation curriculum at Boston Children’s Hospital.  Dr. Bae is a past member of the Board of Directors of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America (POSNA), past chair of POSNA’s Educational Courses Committee, and member of a number of committees for the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons as well as the American Society for Surgery of the Hand.

 Photo Credit:  Peter Hellberg

Michael G. Vitale, MD, MPH
Director Emeritus

Michael Vitale, MD MPH, Co Chairman of the International Pediatric Orthopaedic Syposium, is a Professor of Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery at Columbia University Medical Center. Co Director of the Division of Pediatric Orthopaedics and Chief Quality Officer for the Department of Orthopedics, Vitale's clinical interest focuses on optimizing the care of children with scoliosis. Vitale runs an active clinical research team with over 100 peer reviewed publications in the field. 

United States Faculty

  • Lindsay M. Andras, MD
  • Jill Ariagno, MSN, RN
  • Alexandre Arkader, MD
  • Laurel C. Blakemore, MD
  • Michael T. Busch, MD
  • Michelle S. Caird, MD
  • Pablo Castañeda, MD
  • Henry G. Chambers, MD
  • Jon R. Davids, MD
  • Mark A. Erickson, MD
  • John M. (Jack) Flynn, MD
  • Steven L. Frick, MD
  • Theodore J. Ganley, MD
  • Michael P. Glotzbecker, MD
  • William L. Hennrikus, Jr., MD
  • Jose A. Herrera Soto, MD
  • John E. Herzenberg, MD
  • Kim Ingraham, PA-C
  • Michelle James, MD
  • Lori A. Karol, MD
  • Robert M. Kay, MD
  • Young-Jo Kim, MD, PhD
  • Mininder S. Kocher, MD, MPH
  • A. Noelle Larson, MD
  • Lawrence G. Lenke, MD
  • William G. Mackenzie, MD
  • James J. McCarthy, MD, MHCM
  • Amy L. McIntosh, MD
  • Todd A. Milbrandt, MD
  • Vincent S. Mosca, MD
  • Peter O. Newton, MD
  • Kenneth J. Noonan, MD
  • Dror Paley, MD, FRCSC
  • Jonathan H. Phillips, MD
  • Amer Samdani, MD
  • Wudbhav N. Sankar, MD
  • Jeffrey R. Sawyer, MD
  • Jonathan G. Schoenecker, MD, PhD
  • Richard M. Schwend, MD
  • Suken A. Shah, MD
  • Kevin G. Shea, MD
  • Benjamin J. Shore, MD, MPH, FRCSC
  • Ernest L. Sink, MD
  • David L. Skaggs, MD, MMM
  • Brian G. Smith, MD
  • Paul D. Sponseller, MD
  • Daniel J. Sucato, MD, MS
  • Bryan J. Tompkins, MD
  • Vernon T. Tolo, MD
  • Peter M. Waters, MD
  • Stuart L. Weinstein, MD
  • Jennifer M. Weiss, MD
  • Dennis R. Wenger, MD

International Faculty

  • Alain Dimeglio, MD
  • Deborah Eastwood, MB, ChB, FRCS
  • Ilkka Helenius, MD
  • David G. Little, MD, MBBS, FRACS, PhD
  • Unni G. Narayanan, MBBS, MsC, FRCSC
  • Christof Radler, MD
  • Thomas Wirth, MD
  • Muharrem Yazici, MD, MBA


  • Nicholas Fletcher, MD
  • G. Ying Li, MD
  • Lindsey Locke, MSN, CPNP-PC
  • Brandon Ramo, MD
  • Leslie Rhodes, DNP, PPCNP-BC
  • Vineeta Swaroop, MD
  • Elizabeth Weber, MD

*Course faculty is subject to change.